Class officers elected

At student senate’s April 11 meeting, the new class officers and executive secretary were announced.?All races were uncontested.

After previously being defeated for student senate president by incumbent Ryan Boyer, junior Jon Xenos won the race for executive secretary with 76 votes.

Xenos said he hopes to build on to what student senate has accomplished.

“I want to continue on what they’ve been doing, and also add my personal insight on how to go about situations in different ways,” he said. “I’m not trying to step on anyone’s toes because I haven’t served on the executive board before, but I want to go into it trying to put my own ideas in.”

Juniors Lori Seidl and Jaclyn Kettler were named senior class president and vice president for next year. Junior LaTasha Roberts was named secretary with 20 votes.

Sophomore class president Wes Mikel was re-elected, receiving 21 votes. Since no one ran for the other positions, Mikel said it is possible that the offices will be filled during the freshman class officer elections in the fall, or he might have the opportunity to appoint people to the positions.

Mikel said he has learned from serving on the committee that dealt with the elimination of Sunday meals.

“I’ve learned that if you’re really passionate about something, it doesn’t take a huge committee to get something changed,” he said.

Mikel said he has many goals in mind for next year.

“The main thing is that we need to set definitive goals and see that they’re carried out,” he said. “We need to find things we don’t like about this school and try to change them. I really want to see student senate’s name get out there more, and make people see what kind of an impact student senate can have.”

Mikel said he dislikes the view students have of senate.

“I feel like students don’t respect student senate because they have the perception that we don’t do anything, which is not true at all,” he said. “I hear a lot of complaints from people who say that students don’t have a voice this campus. I would hope that student senate is the group on campus for that voice.”

Freshman Jason Mock won class president with 16 votes. Freshmen Chad O’Bryhim and Gillian Joy were named vice president and secretary.

O’Bryhim, who is currently serving as freshman class president, said he has realized a few things through his experience.

“I’ve learned how to reach students, and how to get them involved,” he said. “I’ve also learned how important student senate is when it comes to the funding of organizations.”

O’Bryhim said he is looking forward to next year.

“I’d like the sophomore class to adopt a local community service project,” he said. “It could be something that we could continue doing in upcoming years. I’m really looking forward to working with the clubs and organizations, as well as with the new administration.”