Football falls to end season


Justin Toumberlin

Junior Marco Aguinaga under center to receive the snap from center and junior Tyrus Bergeron. Aguinaga completes 15 of 21 attempts for 186 yards against MNU.

Story by Makenzie Musgrove, Sports Editor

After finishing first in the south division of the Heart of America Conference for the fifth straight season, the Wildcats were seeded to play Kansas Wesleyan in the first round of the NAIA Football Championship Series.

The Coyotes were ranked no. 3 coming into the game while the Wildcats ranked no. 5. The Wildcats took the first lead of the game 7-0 after Bryson Briggs intercepted the Coyote’s quarterbacks pass. JD Woods then ran the ball in for the first touchdown of the day for the Wildcats.

However, those would be the only points the Wildcats would score on the day. The Coyotes went on to score 42 unanswered points to win the play-off game 42-7. This loss marks the end of the Wildcats season.

The season was highlighted by 18 players receiving All-Conference awards for the Heart of America.

Jason Thoren received Head Coach of the Year and assistant coach Mitch Browning received Assistant Coach of the Year.

Nigil Graves-Houston was named Heart of America Freshman of the Year while also being named to Second Team All- Conference.

On the offensive side of the ball JD Woods, Marco Aguinaga, Sam Huckabee, Jared Harvey and Brandon Lehnherr were selected to First Team All-Conference.

On the defensive side of the ball Sam Skwarlo, Mikeice Adams, Bryson Briggs, Grant Elson and Jon Scire were selected to First Team All-Conference.

John Rincon, Terrell Simpson and Jake Zieler were selected to defensive Second Team All-Conference.

Ethan Barnard was also selected to First Team All-Conference for special teams.